2018 World Cup
| Updated the
Nestor Pitana, the referee of the 2018 World Cup final between France and Croatia, explained the penalty awarded to the Blues.
In the 34th minute of the World Cup final (4-2, 15 July), while the score is 1-1 between France and Croatia, the whistle of Nestor Pitana, after the revision of the VAR, a penalty for a hand of Ivan Perisic. "And it was a fast action, penny, penny, rebound and Hernan (Maidana, his assistant) give the goal output, reports the Argentine referee La Nacion. (…) I tell him: "Wait wait." Because I see that Giroud and Griezmann are clamoring for a hand. I point out to the referees of the videos, who tell me: "Wait, do not resume the game." Then they launch me: "We suggest you see the slow motion". I go, I control and I give the penalty for France.According to the rules, players can not claim the VAR. The intervention of Giroud and Griezmann, who transformed the penalty, seems to have been still decisive.