44 teams will give life to the 2020 South American Cup

The Copa Sudamericana 2019 came to an end with the consecration of Independiente del Valle, who defeated Colón de Santa Fe in Asunción. As the Ecuadorian team enjoys its first international achievement, there are 44 teams dreaming of being the successor to the 2020 title.

In recent years, the competition has become very important, as the clubs that participate in it bet everything to add the trophy to their showcases, delivering exciting matches edition by edition.

The Covid-19 pandemic disrupted all initial plans, generating, of course, the absolute cessation of competition.

In a Council of Conmebol the new dates were given to finish the tournament. The rescheduling led to the semi-finals and the final in January 2021 with an exact date yet to be confirmed.

For the second consecutive year, the South American final will be defined in a single match and on a neutral court. The stage chosen for this edition is the “Mario Alberto Kempes” World Cup stadium in Córdoba.


The first phase was played from February 4 to 27, while the series of the second phase were rescheduled for the weeks of October 27 and November 3.

The competition will continue in November, with the knockout matches scheduled for the weeks of November 24 and December 1.

The quarterfinals will be played the weeks of December 8 and 15, while the semifinals will be the weeks of January 5 and 12.


The first phase will be made up of 44 teams, distributed in the North Zone (Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru and Venezuela) and the South Zone (Argentina, Chile, Bolivia, Paraguay and Uruguay).

For the second phase, there will be a draw that will match the duels with a club from each zone, thus resulting in 22 that advance to the next round, in which another 10 from the Copa Libertadores will be added: two best losers from the repechage and eight third from their area in the group stage.


Argentina: Argentinos Juniors, Vélez, Independiente, Unión, Huracán and Lanús.

Bolivia: Nacional Potosí, Blooming, Always Ready and Oriente Petrolero.

Brazil: Fortaleza, Goias, Bahia, Vasco da Gama, Atlético Mineiro y Fluminense.

Chile: La Calera, Coquimbo Unido, Huachipato and Audax Italiano.

Colombia: Deportivo Cali, Atlético Nacional, Millonarios and Deportivo Pasto.

Ecuador: Universidad Católica, Aucas, Emelec and El Nacional.

Paraguay: Sol de América, Nacional, River Plate and Sportivo Luqueño.

Peru: Sport Huancayo, Melgar, Cusco and Atlético Grau.

Uruguay: Liverpool, Plaza Colonia, River Plate and Fénix.

Venezuela: Zamora, Mineros de Guayana, Llaneros and Aragua.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.