Canadian tennis players win the Davis Cup for the first time in history / Day

In the final duel, the Canadians won 2-0 against Australia and secured the title after both singles matches.

In the first match of the day, Canadian tennis player Deniss Shapovalov, who is ranked 18th in ATP, won 6-2, 6-4 against Australian representative Tanasi Kokinaki (ATP 95th).

In the second match, Félix Auger-Aliassim, ranked sixth in the world, made it 2-0, beating Alex de Minor (ATP 24th) 6-3, 6-4.

Canada’s national team also included Vasek Pospisil, Alexis Galarno and Gabriel Djallo, and the team was captained by Frank Dancevic.

The Canadians also reached the final in 2019, when they lost 0-2 to Spain.

Matches at the “Palacio de Deportes Jose Maria Martin Carpena” arena were held indoors on a hard surface court.

Initially, it was planned to hold the Davis Cup group tournament matches in Malaga from September 14 to 18, but after a convincing offer, the International Tennis Federation (ITF) and the tournament rights holder “Kosmos” granted the city the right to hold the playoffs for the next two years.

The Davis Cup returned to Malaga for the first time since September 2003, when Spain defeated Argentina in the semi-finals.

Several tournaments have been held in Andalusia. The 2004 and 2011 finals were held in Seville, while the 2022 qualification matches took place in the city of Marbella.

Last year, Russian tennis players won the Davis Cup final, but this year they cannot defend the title due to disqualification. Also, due to Russia’s military attack on Ukraine, the Belarusian national team was also disqualified from the competition

See also  Emirates News Agency - Under the patronage of Falah bin Zayed..Ghantoot /A/ led by Maitha bint Mohammed wins the Pink Polo Festival Cup

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.