Defeated by China, Japan Fails to Defend Title


AARHUS – China takes the trophy Uber Cup 2020. The Bamboo Curtain country won 3-1 over defending champion Japan in the final at Ceres Arena, Aarhus, Sunday (17/10/2021) early morning WIB.

In the first party to play women’s singles, Japan fielded Akane Yamaguchi. The world number five player faced off against Chen Yu Fei who was ranked second in the world.

Also read: Spend 100 Minutes Against Antonsen in Thomas Cup, Jonathan Christie Just Laughs

Unexpectedly, the 24-year-old was able to make a surprise by defeating Yu Fei. He managed to win the match two straight games 21-18 and 21-10 in a match that lasted 46 minutes.

After that, a fierce match occurred in the second party which played the women’s doubles sector. Through a battle of 1 hour 57 minutes, Yuki Fukushima/Mayu Matsumoto failed to widen Japan’s advantage.

Also read: Thomas Cup: Revenge Success, Jojo Satisfied Beating Antonsen in his hometown

They lost 27-29 in the first game to Chen Qing Chen/Jia Yi Fan. Even though they got up and won 21-15 in the second game, they finally had to admit the superiority of the Chinese representative after losing 18-21 in the deciding game and making the score back to a 1-1 draw.

Then, Japan sent Sayaka Takahashi in the third party to play the second women’s singles. However, the world number 15 was silenced by He Bing Jiao, who is ranked ninth in the world, two straight games with a score of 9-21 and 18-21.

A fierce battle took place again in the fourth party, which brought together Misaki Matsutomo/Nami Matsuyama and Huang Dong Ping/Li Wen Mei. In the match which lasted for 1 hour and 1 minute, Huang/Li Wen managed to come out victorious after beating Matsutomo/Matsuyama’s fierce resistance with a score of 24-22 and 23-21. As a result, China also won 2-1 over Japan.

See also  Tita-Banti: the golden couple of sailing that won Tokyo - Olympics

With these results, Japan failed to defend its title and had to give up the 2020 Uber Cup falling into the hands of China. The title is the 15th for the Bamboo Curtain Country after last winning it in 2016.



Leave a Comment