Democrats criticize US strategy in Venezuela.


A group of 16 Democratic legislators including MEP Alexandria Ocasio Cortez sent a letter to the head of diplomacy Mike Pompeo on Thursday criticizing the strategy of the United States in the crisis in Venezuela, in particular the sanctions imposed by the Donald Trump government.

"We are writing to express our deepest concern at the way the Trump government is managing relations with Venezuela, in particular the insinuations of military intervention, the imposition of extensive unilateral sanctions and the recent recognition of the leader of opposition "indicated the legislators in the letter.

According to members of Congress, the recent sanctions could "exacerbate the serious economic crisis that suffers the country, causing immense suffering to the most vulnerable who have no responsibility".

The United States is one of the main supporters of interim president Juan Guaidó, who has been recognized by over 50 countries in his fight against Nicolás Maduro, re-elected in the contested elections last year.

The group of legislators stressed that it strongly condemned the actions of the Maduro government, citing the repression of civil society, the failed economic policy, the killing of unarmed demonstrators and irregularities in the elections, in addition to the blocking of humanitarian aid.

Since 2015, Washington has sanctioned dozens of Venezuelan officials and former officials, including Maduro himself, accusing them of violations of human rights, corruption and drug trafficking. In addition, the Trump administration applied an embargo on Venezuelan oil, crucial to its economy, which will begin to take effect on April 28th.

"The United States is alone in its decision to impose economic sanctions against the government of Venezuela, which, as they have been put in place, are damaging the civilian population", said the legislators who warned that this policy could be "counterproductive" and be used in the service of Venezuela's "government fiction".

The letter was signed by Pramila Jayapal, Mark Pocan, Raul Grijalva, Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Adriano Espaillat, Ilhan Omar, Rashida Tlaib, Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, Ayanna Pressley, Nydia M. Velázquez, José E. Serrano, Tulsi Gabbard, Karen Bass, Danny K. Davis, Jan Schakowsky and Ro Khanna.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.