Energie Cottbus receives Bayern Munich in the DFB Cup


Dhe FC Energie Cottbus has caught the dream of many unterklassiger clubs in the DFB Cup: The third-division relegated receives defending champion and record winner FC Bayern Munich in the first round. “With the great support of our fans, we can always plan, the hut will certainly be full,” said energy coach Claus-Dieter Wollitz and stated: “A progress would be an absolute sensation.” Clear outsider is also the ambitious third division club KFC Uerdingen in North Rhine-Westphalia duel with Borussia Dortmund.

Nia Künzer, World Champion of 2003, pulled on Saturday at the German Football Museum in Dortmund further explosive pairings: Especially the match for the long-time BVB professional Kevin Grosskreutz. The world champion of 2014 now plays for the KFC. This year's finalist RB Leipzig joins the second division promoted VfL Osnabrück. Four years ago, both teams met for the cup prelude. At the score of 1: 0 for Osnabrück referee Martin Petersen was hit by a shot from the VfL fan block lighter on the head. The game was canceled and later scored for Leipzig.

“This is a home game for both”

On the Betzenberg there is a Rhineland-Palatinate showdown: The 1. FC Kaiserslautern receives the FSV Mainz 05. The SV Werder Bremen has no long journey. The team of coach Florian Kohfeldt plays at SV Atlas Delmenhorst. “This is a home game for both,” said Atlas club boss Manfred Engelbart laughing on the ARD. Third-league junior Waldhof Mannheim receives the cup winner of 2018 Eintracht Frankfurt. Sixth-tier club FSV Salmrohr as the bottom club in the upcoming cup season has Holstein Kiel guest.

The first round will be held from 9 to 12 August, but the exact fixtures will be announced at the earliest ten to twelve days after the draw, according to the German Football Association. The finale will take place on May 23, 2020 in Berlin.

All games of the first round at a glance:

Würzburger Kickers – TSG Hoffenheim
FSV Salmrohr – Holstein Kiel
VfB Germania Halberstadt – Union Berlin
1. FC Kaiserslautern – FSV Mainz 05
SV Rödinghausen – SC Paderborn
Hallescher FC – VfL Wolfsburg SV
Atlas Delmenhorst – Werder Bremen
KFC Uerdingen – Borussia Dortmund
SV Sandhausen – Borussia Mönchengladbach
Chemnitz FC – Hamburger SV
Waldhof Mannheim – Eintracht Frankfurt
Alemannia Aachen – Bayer Leverkusen
TuS Dassendorf – Dynamo Dresden
FC 08 Villingen – Fortuna Dusseldorf
KSV Baunatal – VfL Bochum
Energie Cottbus – Bavaria Munich
Karlsruhe SC – Hannover 96
MSV Duisburg – SpVgg Greuther Fürth
FC Oberneuland – Darmstadt 98
Wehen Wiesbaden – 1st FC Cologne
Hansa Rostock – VfB Stuttgart
1. FC Saarbrücken – Jahn Regensburg
SV Drochtersen / Assel – Schalke 04
Viktoria Berlin – Arminia Bielefeld
FC Ingolstadt – 1.FC Nuremberg
SC Verl – FC Augsburg
VfB Luebeck – FC St. Pauli
VfB Eichstätt – Hertha BSC
Wacker Nordhausen – Erzgebirge Aue
VfL Osnabrück – RB Leipzig
1. FC Magdeburg – SC Freiburg
SSV Ulm 1846 football – 1. FC Heidenheim



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.