From August 18, Russian citizens with a Schengen visa issued by Estonia are prohibited from entering Estonia

The Estonian government decided on such a ban on August 11.

The decision does not affect Russian citizens who have been issued a Schengen visa by another country, as well as Estonian permanent residents and permanent residence permit holders.

The exception also applies to employees of the Russian Embassy in Estonia and their relatives, employees directly involved in the transportation of goods and services, persons subject to the European Union norms on freedom of movement, persons visiting close relatives, people arriving for humanitarian reasons.

It has been decided to extend the visa for one year for those Russian students who need it to complete their studies at Estonian universities.

The Minister of Foreign Affairs of Estonia, Urmas Reinsalu, stated that this month there will be a discussion about the European Union-wide visa ban for Russian citizens.

At the same time, he expressed his confidence on Thursday that the European Union norms allow deciding on the entry ban for persons with a Schengen zone visa issued by another member state.

As an example, he cited the Covid-19 pandemic, when countries had the opportunity to impose entry bans from other bloc countries.

See also  Love, Glory and Beauty - Top Models, episode broadcast on August 17, 2022 on cbs in the USA

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.