Here’s why Kylian Mbappé’s goal against Spain was validated

The goal of victory in the League of Nations registered by Kylian Mbappé against La Roja on Sunday sparked an uproar in Spain, where supporters and media accuse the referees of turning a blind eye to an offside by the French striker.

In the 80th minute, well started by Théo Hernandez, Kylian Mbappé inherits the ball and adjusts the Spanish goalkeeper Unai simon, giving the advantage to the Blues. The Spaniards then rush to the referee, the English Anthony Taylor, to claim an offside, a situation immediately taken over by the VAR.


►►► Read also : The Spaniards annoyed by the arbitration after France – Spain: “Mbappé was offside”, “the offside is clear”


The goal is quickly validated, due to the missed intervention of the defender Eric Garcia who, by trying to intercept the pass from Hernandez, could only deviate from its trajectory and put Mbappé in play.

On this point, the rules decreed by the IFAB, the body governing the laws of the game, are clear: “a player in an offside position who receives a ball deliberately played by an opponent, including with the hand or arm, is not considered to gain any advantage from his position, except in the case of a deliberate save by an opponent .

For the former French international referee Joel Quiniou, the decision is good, he told AFP. “Garcia, who tried to play the ball, who touched it and deflected it from its course, put Mbappé on the line. We cannot consider this to be an unintentional gesture.

See also  In Spain they highlighted the "most goalscorer" season of Arturo Vidal

Correctly applied

This is a textbook case“, judge with AFP Bertrand Layec, also a former referee. “In the position phase, Mbappé is offside, but from the moment the defender plays the ball deliberately, it is put onside. One can agree or not with the law, but it has been correctly applied.

In Spain, however, this goal created controversy. “They are destroying football“, headlined Marca on Monday, the best-selling newspaper in Spain, stating that”an incomprehensible VAR intervention on a new and ridiculous offside rule has ruined (the hopes of) Spain“.


►►► Read also : Karim Benzema hails “the strength of character” of the Blues


Injustice“, for its part posted in large capital letters the Catalan daily Sport, judging the decision”scandalous“.

With + the old testament +, (the ball touched by Eric Garcia) would never have canceled the offside. But with the + new testament +, so changing, yes“, tackled Monday Alfredo Relaño, honorary president of the sports newspaper As and respected voice of Spanish football.

One of the only dissonant voices in Spain is that of the former referee Eduardo Iturralde Gonzalez placeholder image : “players must know the rules. They have a lot of free time and there are only 17 rules“affirmed this ex-referee turned consultant, adding that”if Eric Garcia touches it, there is a goal“.

A goal which is also reminiscent of Romelu Lukaku’s opening goal against Russia at the Euro. Remember! On a seemingly innocuous (and failed) cross by Dries Mertens, the former Interiste had taken advantage of a huge blunder by a Russian defender, Semenov in this case, to place at the bottom.

See also  Porto would let Tecatito Corona go to incorporate a crack from Liga MX

If the Russians had then shouted offside, the referee had not flinched. The explanation is simple (and complicated at the same time): as on the recent action of Kylian Mbappé, the deviation of a defender changes the situation since it destroys the position of preliminary and manifest offside at the base of the game. ‘action.

Leave a Comment