Mandatory CWD sampling in Polk County Nov. 10-11


Polk County will be one of the counties conducting mandatory chronic wasting disease sampling of deer harvested this weekend.

The Missouri Department of Conservation is conducting sampling in 31 of the 48 counties of its CWD Management Zone during the opening weekend of the Fall Firearms deer season, Nov. 10 and 11, according to an MDC news release.

Other counties involved include Adair, Barry, Bollinger, Cape Girardeau, Cedar, Cole, Crawford, Franklin, Grundy, Hickory, Jefferson, Knox, Linn, Macon, Madison, McDonald, Mercer, Moniteau, Ozark, Perry, Putnam, St. Charles , St. Clair, St. Francois, Ste. Genevieve, Stone, Sullivan, Taney, Warren and Washington.

6 / or 11 must be taken from the counties and 6 months of the day in the MDC 's harvest. Deum may be presented at any mandatory sampling for free test results.

Polk County's sampling station will be at the Bolivar Fire Station No. 2, 812 S. Killingsworth Ave. under Mandatory CWD Sampling, MDC's 2018 Fall Deer & Turkey Hunting Regulations and Information booklet.

The MDC encourages to dispose of the carcasses to help limit the spread of the disease. MDC also encourages hunters to Share the Harvest and to follow special guidelines if sharing a harvested from a county where CWD has been found. Learn more at under Carcass Disposal.

CWD is an infectious and deadly disease for white-tailed deer and other members of the deer family, called cervids. CWD infecting people, but the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention strongly suggesting that they have been tested for CWD. The CDC also recommends eating positive for CWD, which in Missouri are rare with 76 confirmed cases in free ranging from the disease in 2012.

MDC and the Conservation Federation of Missouri encourage hunters around the state to share their harvests through the state's Share the Harvest program. Administered by MDC and CFM, Share the Harvest the efforts of thousands of deer hunters, numerous participating meat processors, many local support organizations, and statewide sponsors.

Donating deer to STH from a CWD-positive county

CWD has been found to be the first to be harvested from the 12 counties where CWD has been found: Adair, Cedar, Cole, Franklin, Jefferson, Linn, Macon, Oregon, Perry, Polk, St. Clair, and Ste. Genevieve. CWD-positive counties. CWD-positive counties. Learn more at



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.