Entertainment “Nestroy”: Author's Prize for Jelinek - wien.ORF.at

“Nestroy”: Author’s Prize for Jelinek – wien.ORF.at

In addition to Elfriede Jelinek, who received the author’s award for “Schwarzwasser”, the winner in the “Lifetime Achievement” category has also been chosen: the Swiss theater Christoph Marthaler is honored in this “Nestroy” category.

On Tuesday, 35 nominations in a further eleven categories were announced. The dancer Beatrice Cordua (“TANZ”), Theresa Palfi from the Landestheater Linz (Elizabeth in “Maria Stuart”) and Burgtheater star Caroline Peters (“Schwarzwasser”) have been nominated for best actress, among the actors at the Schauspielhaus Graz engaged Florian Köhler (Ms. Zittel in “Heldenplatz”), Johannes Krisch (Weinberl in “He wants to make a joke”) and Burgtheater newcomer Franz Pätzold (Dionysus in “Die Bakchen”) who moved from the Burgtheater to Josefstadt.

APA / Burgtheater / Matthias Horn

Caroline Peters (center) has been nominated as best actress for the Jelinek play “Schwarzwasser”

“Corona special price” instead of a special price

Florentina Holzinger, whose piece “DANCE. A sylphidic dreaming in stunts ”(premiered in Tanzquartier Wien) was recently voted the production of the year in the critics’ survey of the specialist journal“ Theater heute ”, alongside Viktor Bodó (“ Peer Gynt ”in the Volkstheater) and Amélie Niermeyer (“ Der Kirschgarten “In the Theater in der Josefstadt) Chances of winning the Nestroy in the” Best Director “category. The “best performance in the German-speaking world” comes either from the Schauspielhaus Zurich (“Man appears in the Holocene”), from the Münchner Kammerspiele (“Die Räuberinnen”) or from the Berlin Friedrichstadt-Palast (“Belief in the possibility of a complete renewal of the world “).

The otherwise usual special price was converted into a “Corona special price” this year, with which, according to the new jury chairman Ulli Stepan, an attempt was made to “do justice to the extraordinary situation of this year”. “The shortened 2019/20 season also presented the jury of the Nestroy Theater Prize with major challenges,” said Stepan in a broadcast. The jury saw 544 theatrical performances in the season that was canceled prematurely.

Ten nominations for audience award

For the first time there will be a “stage” special prize not determined by the jury. According to Andreas Kornhofer, editor & managing director of Red Bull Media House Publishing, this should be “above all a thank you”, “which ultimately goes to all those who fight for more culture and more heart-building in society, especially in extraordinary times like these”.

The jury has nominated ten artists for the ORF III audience award: Bibiana Beglau, Ruth Brauer-Kvam, Mavie Hörbiger, Maria Köstlinger, Claudia Sabitzer, Tobias Moretti, Michael Niavarani, Der Nino from Vienna, Otto Schenk and Martin Wuttke. They can open until September 25, 11:59 p.m. tv.ORF.at be matched.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest news

Ranitidine Medication: Invima orders to recall all batches of injectable Ranitidine | Health

After, in the month of July, the Invima will order the recall of all Ranitidine tablet lots, after detecting...

black leather blazer plus short floral dress

You will use these jackets as a coat during halftime. Mid-season looks with suits, dresses, skirts and pants that...

Delete or store in the library? With iOS 14 you don’t have to delete an application

It was a procedure that all of us who carry out a iPhone...

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you