The drawn World Cup spells brought the German and Spanish teams together in the group stage

The 2022 World Cup draw was drawn on Friday, dividing the football teams into eight intriguing groups.

The main event will start on November 21st and the final will take place on December 18th.

World Cup groups:

Group A: Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal, the Netherlands

Group B: England, Iran, United States, Wales, Ukraine or Scotland

Group C: Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland

Group D: France, Denmark, Tunisia, Australia, the United Arab Emirates or Peru

Group E: Spain, Germany, Japan, Costa Rica or New Zealand

Group F: Belgium, Canada, Morocco, Croatia

Group G: Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland, Cameroon

Group H: Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay, Korea

The teams are divided into four baskets based on the FIFA world ranking. The host of the championship, Qatar, is guaranteed to be in the first basket and is already known to play in Group A.

The first basket will also feature teams with a ranking of 1-7, the second with the other 8 teams with the highest ranking, and the third with another 8 teams ranked by ranking. However, in the fourth basket, things are a little different – five teams are ranked according to ranking, and three more are still unknown. Two of them will be the winners of the intercontinental playoffs, and one will be the European team, because Russia has not yet played its match due to the war in Ukraine.

Geographical restrictions apply to each group. There can be only one continent in each group, except for Europe, which can have two teams, as there are as many as 13 European teams competing in the World Cup.

What are baskets?

1 cart: Qatar, Brazil, Belgium, France, Argentina, England, Spain, Portugal

Cart 2: Mexico, Netherlands, Denmark, Germany, Uruguay, Switzerland, USA, Croatia

Cart 3: Senegal, Iran, Japan, Morocco, Serbia, Poland, South Korea, Tunisia

Cart 4: Cameroon, Canada, Ecuador, Saudi Arabia, Ghana, European Team, South America – Asia Continental Match Winners, North / Central America – Oceania Continental Match Winners

Maximum losses:

The European champion Italy, which lost to Northern Macedonia, did not enter the World Cup sensationally. Norway did not qualify, which means that Erling Haaland will not take part in the tournament. Nor will we see Mohamed Salah in the tournament because the Egyptian team lost to Senegal.


The biggest favorites to win the World Cup are Brazil, France, England and Spain.

What will be the format of the World Cup?

4 teams will play in eight groups. Only after the draw ceremony will the venues be designated, so the organizers can choose the optimal start time for the match to suit TV viewers from different countries and fans in Qatar.

Unlike in 2020. The third place match will also take place at the European Championships and the World Cup on December 17th.

Group stage: November 21 – December 2

Eighth Finals: December 3-6.

Quarterfinals: breast 9 – 10 d.

Semifinals: December 13 – 14

Finals: December 18

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.