WhatsApp had already introduced the new self-destruction function for messages in the beta version released in March. WhatsApp messages can be automatically deleted after an hour, a day, a week, a month or a year after activation via the contact information or the group settings. In the latest beta version 2.20.110 for Android, some changes to the feature are presented, as the always well-informed WhatsApp blog WABetaInfo reports.

The first thing you notice is that the delete function now has a different name: if it was initially known in the menu under the name “Disappearing Messages” (later “Delete Messages”) and later as “Delete Messages”, you have First of all, we decided on the name “Expiring Messages”.

Also new: If the “Expiring Messages” are activated, the respective chats are marked in the overview with a small clock symbol next to the profile or group picture. The symbol can also be seen in the open chat window.

While the self-destruction function can be selected in individual chats for all beta users, at least only administrators can use it in groups for the time being. According to WABetaInfo, the feature is still in the test phase – a date for the roll-out for all WhatsApp users is therefore not yet in sight.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.