With its star Lionel Messi, who was released from a sanction, but without the historic forwards Ángel Di María and Sergio Agüero, the Albiceleste team will face the first two dates of the qualifying rounds to Qatar-2022, the Argentine Football Association announced this Friday ( AFA)

The list was released the day after Conmebol announced that the ‘foreign’ figures will be able to contest the qualifier, after the doubts generated by the large number of covid-19 cases in Latin American countries.

Messi, 33, had a suspension for a game that was applied to him when he was sent off in a duel against Chile for third place in the Copa América in Brazil-2019 in an altercation with his rival Gary Medel, but this was prescribed for having more than a year has passed.

The Argentine captain has just overcome a crisis for which he was about to leave Barcelona, ​​the club he arrived at 20 years ago.

Argentina’s debut will be against Ecuador on October 8 at La Bombonera in Buenos Aires. The other match will be played on October 13 against Bolivia at the height of La Paz.

Agüero was not called up due to an injury that still does not allow him to train, while Di María’s absence was not given an explanation.

This is a provisional list of summoned, which needs to be completed with local soccer players:

Goalkeepers: Emiliano Martínez (Aston Villa), Juan Musso (Udinese) and Agustín Marchesín (Porto).

Defenders: Juan Foyth (Tottenham), Renzo Saravia (Inter de Porto Alegre), Germán Pezzella (Fiorentina), Leo Balerdi (Olympique de Marseille), Nicolás Otamendi (Manchester City), Nehuén Pérez (Atlético Madrid), Walter Kannemann (Gremio) , Nicolás Tagliafico (Ajax), Marcos Acuña (Seville) and Facundo Medina (Lens).

Midfielders: Leandro Paredes (PSG), Guido Rodríguez (Betis), Rodrigo De Paul (Udinese), Exequiel Palacios (Bayer Leverkusen), Giovani Lo Celso (Tottenham) and Nicolás Domínguez (Bologna).

Forwards: Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Paulo Dybala (Juventus), Lucas Ocampos (Sevilla), Nicolás González (Stuttgart), Alexis Mac Allister (Brighton), Alejandro Gómez (Atalanta), Joaquín Correa (Lazio), Lucas Alario (Bayer Leverkusen) ), Lautaro Martínez (Inter), Giovanni Simeone (Cagliari) and Cristian Pavón (Los Angeles Galaxy).


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.